Just like with most people these days, I walk around with my earphones stuck in my ears.

And just like many people, I miss out on the world around because I have shut them out through the blaring sounds from my ear phones

Well, today I found myself late for class and decided to sit on the bench without my ear phones.

I didn’t learn anything groundbreaking but I was reminded that many people just needs someone to listen…

All I did was smile…

I heard about the woman whose cat refused to eat if he wasn’t facing the mirror…

The woman who was late for work just like me and complained just like me about her hatred of being late for work…

The woman who told me that she had been off beef for 36 years…

The man who offered me a cup of coffee…

And the teenager who walked past in a gruff with his headphones on…

I was late for work alright but I learnt a heartwarming lesson

Sometimes the best thing you could do for someone is just close your mouth and open your ears – Listen

