I don’t consider myself a movie aficionado but I do love movies… The way I am wired, I could show great disdain for movies that everybody was praising but once I loved a movie, I could watch that movie in the cinema ten times…

We watch movies for many reasons and it is rare to find a movie that ticks a lot of boxes. Hidden Figures, in my opinion is one of those. As a teacher this movie warmed my heart because it showed how lives are changed for the better because of education. As a woman it made me proud to see that in an age where women were relegated to the background, 3 black women were instrumental in sending the first men to space.

Now, come Oscars night, it is highly possible that La La Land would bag the Oscar for best picture – maybe they deserve it. But tomorrow, five years, 20 years from now, there would be a girl, woman or mother who would claim that she was able to change the world because she saw three women do it against all odds.

And in my opinion that is what a best movie should do…

image

